Chaosbound by David Farland

Title: Chaosbound (Runelords, v 8)

Author: David Farland

Publisher: Tor Books

Release Date: October 13, 2009

ISBN: 978-0765321688

Size: 352 pages, 6×9″, hardcover

Genre: Fantasy

Series: The Sum of All Men (v1), Brotherhood of the Wolf (v2), Wizardborn (v3), The Lair of Bones (v4), Sons of the Oak (v5), Worldbinder (v6), The Wyrmling Horde (v7)

The world of the Runelords has been combined by magic with another parallel world to form a new one, the beginning of a process that may unify all worlds into the one true world.

This story picks up after the events of The Wyrmling Horde and follows two of Farland’s well-known heroes, Borenson and Myrrima, on a quest to save their devastated land and the people of the new world from certain destruction. But the land is not the only thing that has been altered forever: in the change, Borenson has merged with a mighty and monstrous creature from the other world, Aath Ulber.

He begins to be a different person, a berserker warrior, as well as having a huge new body because of the transformation of worlds. Thousands have died, lands have sunk below the sea and, elsewhere, risen from it. The supernatural rulers of the world are part of a universal evil, yet play a Byzantine game of dark power politics among themselves. And Aarth Ulber is now the most significant pawn in that game.