In the Valley of the Mountains by Anita Stansfield

Title: In the Valley of the Mountains (Shadows of Brierley Series)

Author: Anita Stansfield

Publisher: Covenant

Release Date: November 4, 2011

ISBN: 978-1608613151

Size: 288 pages, 6×9, softcover

Genre: Historical Romance

Shadows of Brierley Series: The Wanderer (book 1), A Far Horizon (book 2), A Distant Shore (book 3)

Jamie walked away . . . He wondered why he was even trying. He felt certain there was nothing he could ever say or do to compete with a man like Hugh Montgomery, and he was fooling himself to believe that he could ever be a contender for Gillian Brierley’s heart.

The year is 1862, and the setting is Salt Lake City. Gillian — Ian and Wren’s eldest daughter — has grown into a lovely young woman who is a source of help and strength to her family. Little does she realize that her life is about to be turned upside down.

Suddenly she must choose between two men who love her, yet whose lives and lifestyles are completely divergent. Honorable and trusted family friend Hugh Montgomery is safe and steady, while young Jamie MacBrier, recently arrived from Scotland, is impetuous, passionate, worldly, and completely unschooled in the principles of the gospel. Yet he has created feelings in Gillian that are new and exciting — and frightening. Can she be true to both her faith and her heart?

In this deeply moving conclusion to the Shadows of Brierley series, beloved LDS author Anita Stansfield delivers an unforgettable story of love and the many ways in which it can break our hearts and heal them. In the Valley of the Mountains is compelling and tender, with insights that linger long after the last page has been turned.

Available for purchase from:
Print: | Amazon | B&N | Deseret Book | Seagull Book |
eBook: | Kindle |