AML Awards Announced

The Association for Mormon Letters just announced their 2008 award winners. They are:

Neil Aitken , The Lost Country of Sight (Anhinga Press)

Warren Hatch, Mapping the Bones of the World (Signature Books)

Short Fiction:
Stephen Tuttle, “Amanuensis” (Hayden’s Ferry Review)

Angela Hallstrom, Bound on Earth (Parables)

Youth Fiction:
Brandon Mull, Fablehaven: The Grip of the Shadow Plague (Shadow Mountain)

James Goldberg, Prodigal Son

Personal Essay:
Patrick Madden , “A Brief Push Behind the Heart”
(Best Literary Non-fiction, vol. 2, W. W. Norton and Company)

Stephen Carter, “Calling” (Sunstone)

Christian Vuissa, Errand of Angels

Ron Williams, Happy Valley

Special Award in Criticism:
Alan F. Keele

Special Award in Textual Criticism and Bibliography:
Dean C. Jessee, Mark Ashurst-McGee, Richard L. Jensen, The Joseph Smith Papers, Journals Series, vol. 1, Journals 1832-1839 (Church Historian’s Press)

Special Award in History:
Richard E. Turley, Jr., Glen M. Leonard, and Ronald W. Walker, Massacre at Mountain Meadows (Oxford University Press)

Smith-Petit Foundation Award for Outstanding Contribution to Mormon Letters:
Douglas H. Thayer

Lifetime AML Membership:
Terryl L. Givens

Last year, the same novel (On the Road to Heaven by Coke Newell) won both the AML award and the Whitney award. It will be interesting to see if Bound On Earth does the same this year.

One thought on “AML Awards Announced”

  1. .

    Do you think a second doubler would be good for the awards or damaging? It was a surprise last year as the whole point of the Whitney’s was to add a more populist perspective to LDS awards. If we have a doubler again this year, will it make having two awards seem somewhat redundant? What do you think?

Comments are closed.